DIP9902 Course Guide

This article discusses 'triangulation' as a strategy for increasing the validity of
evaluation and research findings. Triangulation is used to combine the advantages of both the qualitative and the quantitative approach.

In terms of selecting a statistical test, the most important question is "what is the main study hypothesis?" In some cases there is no hypothesis; the investigator just wants to "see what is there".

There are many who cannot differentiate between the two concepts and think of them as same which is incorrect. If analysis can be thought of as a continuum, quantitative analysis lies at one extreme and qualitative would obviously lie at the other extreme. This article will explain the differences between the two terms decisively to remove all kinds of doubts.

The Encyclopedia of Case Study Research provides a compendium on the important methodological issues in conducting case study research and explores both the strengths and weaknesses of different paradigmatic approaches.

Today statistics provides the basis for inference in most medical research. Yet, for want of exposure to statistical theory and practice, it continues to be regarded as the Achilles heel by all concerned in the loop of research and publication – the researchers (authors), reviewers, editors and readers.

Engaging, informative, and nontechnical, Introduction to Educational Research: A Critical Thinking Approach, Second Edition was written and organized specifically for students intending to conduct future educational research.

Empirical research is all about trying to model and predict the world. In this article, I discuss how design-based research methods can help do this effectively. In particular, design-based research methods can help with the problem of methodological alignment: ensuring that the research methods we use actually test what we think they are testing.

Written in a clear, concise style, this book introduces the basic concepts of social science research methods without getting bogged down in technical details.

To explore various types of triangulation strategies and to indicate when different types of triangulation should be used in research. Reviews included literature on triangulation and multimethod strategies published since 1960 and research books specifically focusing on triangulation.

Quantitative and qualitative research are the two dominant research paradigms or methodologies used in the human and social sciences. Both quantitative and qualitative research are modes of inquiry that use different methods to acquire answers to social phenomena.

This appealing text, written for students and marketing practitioners, provides a thorough introduction to qualitative methods in market research.

In this paper, the author discusses the different perspectives on qualitative and quantitative research methods in terms of discovery and justification, which are discussed by Hunt (1991) in his famous marketing theory textbook.

Once you are well into your literature review, it is time to start thinking about the study you will design to answer the gap you identified. Which methodology will you use to gather the data for your research? Will you use a qualitative, quantitative, or mixed methods methodology? You will choose a research method that best aligns with your research question.

The details for each step of the research process will vary depending on the topic, available research, and assignment or research goal, but the main idea behind each step will always remain the same. By developing a research strategy, you will be better able to focus on your topic, organize your search, manage your time efficiently, progress from general to specific resources, and understand when you have researched your topic thoroughly or if further examination is needed.

This paper will provide a research roadmap that can be used as a guide for accomplishing a research project or a doctoral dissertation. It will discuss research methods, ethics in research, key components, and provide a comprehensive graphic that can be used as a guide to quick-start the research effort.

Research fundamentally needs to be evaluated to identify the most efficient methods of evaluation. The primary objective of this paper is to look at a specific research methodology when applied to the area of clinical research, especially extracorporeal circulation and its prognosis for the future.

Stimulates and encourages students, faculty, and educational practitioners, including individuals in Pre K16 education, government, and the private sector who conduct applied and policy-oriented educational research, to place the pursuit of ideas at the epicenter of their research—from framing meaningful problems to identifying and addressing key challenges to the reporting and dissemination of their findings.

Social sciences literature review tool, designed to help graduate and doctoral students at the start of the literature review process. This database provides an extensive overview of nearly 300 social science topics (including business, education, and psychology) written by SAGE editors and renowned academics, as well as key readings. Full-text available.

A tool designed to help you create research projects and understand the methods behind them. Includes over 1,400 methods that are linked to content in over 640 books, encyclopedias, and videos. Full-text available.

Although many critics are reluctant to accept the trustworthiness of qualitative research, frameworks for ensuring rigour in this form of work have been in existence for many years. Guba's constructs, in particular, have won considerable favour and form the focus of this paper.

The use of reliability and validity are common in quantitative research and now it is reconsidered in the qualitative research paradigm.

Understanding and applying research methods and statistics in psychology is one of the corner stones of study at undergraduate level being taught at all levels from introductory to honors level.

It’s the time of year when students are gearing up to write their thesis, and whether it’s at the undergraduate or graduate level, for many this means coming to grips with a tricky question: how do I best explain what it is I’m doing in my paper, and how do I make sure my explanations are up to the standards of academic research? In other words: how do I put together and write up my methodology?

The following table shows general guidelines for choosing a statistical analysis. We emphasize that these are general guidelines and should not be construed as hard and fast rules. Usually your data could be analyzed in multiple ways, each of which could yield legitimate answers.