This is a space for the teal alert bar.
This is a space for the yellow alert bar.
This is a space for the teal alert bar.
This is a space for the yellow alert bar.
The following NU Library databases offer options for foreign language interface to help you better navigate your search. Note that changing the language of the interface does not change the language of the content (book, article, video, etc.).
EBSCOHost databases offer the option to change your preferred language. Click on the Languages option in the upper right corner of the page. See below:
ProQuest databases offer options to change your interface language.
1. Click the person icon in the upper right corner of the database page, then click English:
2. Select your language from the box.
Academic Video Online: Premium from Alexander Street Press (ASP) offers the following on some videos in their collection, but not all. Options will vary based on the individual video publisher(s).
Translation and Multi-Language Use
ASP product sites use a Google Translate widget to translate page text, including transcripts, abstracts, search results, and browse items, into the selected language. This feature is not meant to approximate fluent language use but to assist non-English speakers in finding and understanding our content. Some videos in our collections have subtitles available in multiple languages, but this is not the norm, and subtitles appearing in the video will not be translated by the Google Translate widget. For more information about Google Translate, see their FAQ here.
Subtitles
Some performing arts videos have multilingual subtitles that can be selected by clicking the CC icon in the toolbar beneath the player window. Where only one language is available, clicking this icon will turn the subtitles on or off. Where multiple languages are available, clicking this icon will bring up a menu of available languages. Outside of the performing arts collections, most non-English videos include embedded English subtitles, which cannot be turned off.
Credo Reference offers several language options. Click on English in the upper right corner to select from the choices:
Films on Demand offers the option to translate a page into another language.
To translate a transcript into another language, click on the gear symbol to the bottom right of the transcript page. This will open up the Settings for the video.
From here, you can select the language of your choice. Please note that this only affects the transcript, and not the video itself.
Films on Demand also provides an option for closed captions in another language. The example here provides the user with the option to view subtitles in Spanish or English.
