Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

MFS Evidence Based Practice

This guide provides information on the role of Evidence-Based Practice (EBP) in the Marriage and Family Sciences and provides peer-reviewed research related to each model.

How to Find Studies Inside NCU Library

Once you have identified citation(s) within the Replications section, you may proceed back to NCU Library and try searching for these resources by title. Simply copy and paste the article title into the Roadrunner Search box found on the Library’s homepage. Make sure to surround the title with quotation marks, select Title from the drop-down field, and checkmark the box next to Full Text.


Screenshot of the Roadrunner Search box with an example of a title search.

This authoritative database provides full text, cover-to-cover indexing for journals indexed in MEDLINE. These top journals cover a wide range of subjects within the biomedical and health fields containing information needed by doctors, nurses, health professionals and researchers engaged in clinical care, public health and health policy development.

MEDLINE features a unique search limiter for EBM Reviews. The EBM Reviews limiter is a quick method to limit your search to the following 6 titles within MEDLINE:

  1. The Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews
  2. ACP Journal Club
  3. Clinical Evidence
  4. Evidence-based Mental Health
  5. Evidence-based Nursing
  6. Evidence report/Technology assessment

This limiter is valuable as it limits your search to a small set of titles that apply very strict criteria and thus include high-quality evidence-based content, including systematic reviews.

To search for EBM reviews in MEDLINE, first type in your search term(s).
 

Screenshot of the MEDLINE Advanced Search screen.

Next, scroll down to the Search Options area and check mark the box next to EBM Reviews.
 

Screenshot of the MEDLINE Advanced Search screen with the EBM Reviews box checked.Please note, it is recommended that you keep searches broad when looking for EBM Reviews as check marking this box will likely only return a small set of titles.

In CINAHL, you may limit your search to Evidence-Based Practice using the checkbox shown below. Applying this limiter allows you to limit results to:

  • Articles from evidence-based practice journals
  • Articles about evidence-based practice
  • Research articles (including systematic reviews, clinical trials, meta analyses, etc.)
  • Commentaries on research studies (applying practice to research)

Screenshot of the CINAHL Advanced Search screen with the Evidence-Based Practice box checked.

The Cochrane Library is a collection of six databases that contain different types of high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making. One of these databases, the Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials or CENTRAL, is a highly concentrated source of reports of randomized and quasi-randomized controlled trials.

Search for your intervention by name occurring within the Title, Abstract, Keywords. Remember to utilize phrase searching to ensure the most accurate results.
 

Screenshot of the Cochrane Library search box.Please note, the Cochrane Library can be searched for free, however Northcentral University Library does not have a subscription to this database. For information about using The Cochrane Library see How to use The Cochrane Library help page.