One of the most important aspects of grant development is finding the right sponsor or funding source. This process takes time and skill, both to search for viable opportunity and fully research a potential funder. While funding agencies are quite unique, the one thing they have in common is a passion for sponsoring projects that have potential to make a difference and serve their mission. We have provided a few common quick search links to support you in finding the right opportunity match to your research/project. If you are a faculty or staff member and would like the OGSP to do a customizable search based on your unique project concept or need, please complete and submit the Funding Research Request form.
Office of Sponsored Programs & Research (OSPR)
OSPR@nu.edu
This month we are highlighting the NIHCM Foundation and the content, resources, and funding opportunities available. NIHCM also offers highly relevant Webinars & Briefings (nihcm.org) to support your learning and research.
The NIHCM infographic highlights the many challenges contributing to America’s mental health crisis as well as steps to improve and strengthen mental health care and the behavioral health industry and promote individual resiliency.
NIHCM is now accepting letters of inquiry for the 2022-2023 funding cycle. For more information visit the NIHCM Research Grants page.
California Grants Portal provides access to open and upcoming funding opportunities. The site is easy to navigate and provides keyword searches for an identified field or project interest.
CA Department of Education provides access to open and forecasted funding opportunities. Click on "outside funding" to join listservs and access additional information.
US Department of Education provides general access to many resources. The US Dept. of Education Grants Forecast FY 2022 provides access to current and forecasted opportunities, organized by department areas (charts 1-6), including but not limited to the Office of Education Sciences, the Office of Post-secondary Education, and the Office of Career, Technical and Adult Education. New competitions will be opening soon. The Apply for a Grant page provides another search view that highlights the opportunity, deadline, and eligibility.
Grants.gov provides a searchable database of all discretionary grants offered by federal grant-making agencies. If you are actively seeking funding opportunities, filter for "posted" and "forecasted" and then check additional filters relevant to your priorities or focus.
Philanthropy News Digest - Click on the Request for Proposals (RFPs) tab and see opportunities listed by category.
American Psychological Foundation - The APF is geared toward the field of psychology and offers a number of foundation grants to support projects and programs using psychology to solve social problems.
Complete the Intent to Apply form if you plan to apply for an external grant opportunity, regardless of size. Submission of this form is required and officially alerts the OGSP so we can align resources and support.
Reminder: Dean, chair, or supervisor approval is required prior to submitting this form. Form is automatically routed to OGSP upon clicking "Submit."
OGSP provides research support to NU faculty and staff who have a developed project idea or concept. Support and consultation requests should be initiated by the faculty/staff member. To request support, please complete the Funding Research Form. Note: Form is automatically routed to the OGSP upon clicking "Submit."
