Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

OpenAthens: Accessing Library Resources

Access through Single Sign-On (SSO)

Access to Library Resources through Single Sign-On

OpenAthens is the NCU Library's authentication system used to provide members of the NCU community with access to library resources. Use your NCU login credentials for access. When you click to access a library resource, you will be redirected to the below authentication page where you may enter your NCU login credentials. This is the same login that you use to access your courses through NCUOne. For example, your username is your NCU school email address F.Lastname1234@o365.ncu.edu. 

NCU Single Sign On screen

 

Other resources may display an OpenAthens login screen. If presented with this login screen, ignore the left side of the page, and instead, type Northcentral University into the Find your institution search box. Following this step, you will be routed to the NCU OpenAthens authentication page where you may enter your NCU login credentials to access the resource.

OpenAthens Login Screen

When accessing a resource through OpenAthens for the first time, you may be presented with a Terms of Service and Privacy Policy statement. Please confirm that you have read and agreed with the publishers' terms for access to database content. An example of a Log in Consent page is pictured below: 

Agree to privacy policy for SAGE Journals

Access through Publisher Websites

With OpenAthens, you can use your NCU login credentials to access resources directly from publisher or content provider websites. For example, if you have found an article through a general Google search from a publisher, you can directly authenticate through the publisher's login feature. Please note that the NCU Library may not provide direct access to every journal article or publication that you come across on the web. If you require access to a resource that may not be available in full text through the NCU Library's subscription, you may place a request for the resource through Interlibrary Loan

Each publisher or content provider login page will vary, but users can apply these general steps for access: 

  1. Locate the Sign In/Login button or click to Access the resource through your institution on the publisher or content provider's website.
  2. Select the OpenAthens login option or search Northcentral University in the Find your organization/Search for your institution search box.
  3. Enter your NCU credentials for access.

Examples of Direct Publisher Access

With OpenAthens, you can use your NCU login credentials to access resources directly from publisher or content provider websites. For example, if you have found an article through a general Google search from a publisher, you can directly authenticate through the publisher's login feature. Please note that the NCU Library may not provide direct access to every journal article or publication that you come across on the web. If you require access to a resource that may not be available in full text through the NCU Library's subscription, you may place a request for the resource through Interlibrary Loan

Use the following steps to access full-text database content from ACM Digital Library directly:

1. Click on Sign in.Direct access to ACM Digital Library through the Sign In option

 

2. Under the Institutional Login tab, search for and select Northcentral University.Search for and select Northcentral University to sign into ACM Digital Library

 

3.  You will be routed to the NCU login page to sign in with your institutional credentials. NCU login page

With OpenAthens, you can use your NCU login credentials to access resources directly from publisher or content provider websites. For example, if you have found an article through a general Google search from a publisher, you can directly authenticate through the publisher's login feature. Please note that the NCU Library may not provide direct access to every journal article or publication that you come across on the web. If you require access to a resource that may not be available in full text through the NCU Library's subscription, you may place a request for the resource through Interlibrary Loan

Please note that the NCU Library partially subscribes to database content in Annual Reviews with full-text access to the following titles: Annual Review of AnthropologyAnnual Review of Clinical PsychologyAnnual Review of Environment and ResourcesAnnual Review of Law and Social ScienceAnnual Review of Organizational Psychology and Organizational BehaviorAnnual Review of Political ScienceAnnual Review of PsychologyAnnual Review of Public Health, and Annual Review of Sociology. Other content from this database may be requested through an interlibrary loan request. 

Use the following steps to access full-text database content from Annual Reviews directly:

1. Click on Institutional Login and search for Northcentral University.Annual Reviews Institutional Login option

2.  You will be routed to the NCU login page to sign in with your institutional credentials. NCU login page

With OpenAthens, you can use your NCU login credentials to access resources directly from publisher or content provider websites. For example, if you have found an article through a general Google search from a publisher, you can directly authenticate through the publisher's login feature. Please note that the NCU Library may not provide direct access to every journal article or publication that you come across on the web. If you require access to a resource that may not be available in full text through the NCU Library's subscription, you may place a request for the resource through Interlibrary Loan

Use the following steps to access full-text database content from IEEE Xplore directly:

1. Click on Institutional Login.IEEE Xplore Digital Library Institutional Login

2. Search for and select Northcentral University under Institutional Sign In.IEEE Xplore Institutional Login search for Northcentral University

3.  You will be routed to the NCU login page to sign in with your institutional credentials. NCU login page

With OpenAthens, you can use your NCU login credentials to access resources directly from publisher or content provider websites. For example, if you have found an article through a general Google search from a publisher, you can directly authenticate through the publisher's login feature. Please note that the NCU Library may not provide direct access to every journal article or publication that you come across on the web. If you require access to a resource that may not be available in full text through the NCU Library's subscription, you may place a request for the resource through Interlibrary Loan

Use the following steps to access full-text database content from SAGE Journals directly:

1. Click on Institution.SAGE Journals Institution LogIn

2. Under the Institutional Login box, click on Access through your institution.Access options in SAGE Journals

3. Search for Northcentral University.Search for Northcentral University in SAGE Journals Institutional Log In

4.  You will be routed to the NCU login page to sign in with your institutional credentials. NCU login page

With OpenAthens, you can use your NCU login credentials to access resources directly from publisher or content provider websites. For example, if you have found an article through a general Google search from a publisher, you can directly authenticate through the publisher's login feature. Please note that the NCU Library may not provide direct access to every journal article or publication that you come across on the web. If you require access to a resource that may not be available in full text through the NCU Library's subscription, you may place a request for the resource through Interlibrary Loan

Use the following steps to access full-text database content from ScienceDirect directly:

1. Click on Sign in in the top right corner.

Science Direct Log In feature

2. Click on Sign in via your institution.

Sign in via institution in Science Direct

3.  Search for and click on Northcentral University. 

Search for Northcentral University in Science Direct to Login

4.  Click on Access through Northcentral University.

 Access Science Direct content through Northcentral University login screen

5.  You will be routed to the NCU login page to sign in with your institutional credentials. NCU login page

With OpenAthens, you can use your NCU login credentials to access resources directly from publisher or content provider websites. For example, if you have found an article through a general Google search from a publisher, you can directly authenticate through the publisher's login feature. Please note that the NCU Library may not provide direct access to every journal article or publication that you come across on the web. If you require access to a resource that may not be available in full text through the NCU Library's subscription, you may place a request for the resource through Interlibrary Loan

Use the following steps to access full-text database content from SpringerLink directly:

1. Click on Sign up/Log in in the top right.Sign In through SpringerLink directly from publisher website

2. Click on Access via your institution.Select access via your institution in SpringerLink to log in

3.  Search for and click on Northcentral University.

Select Northcentral University to access SpringerLink content directly

4. You will be routed to the NCU login page to sign in with your institutional credentials. NCU login page

With OpenAthens, you can use your NCU login credentials to access resources directly from publisher or content provider websites. For example, if you have found an article through a general Google search from a publisher, you can directly authenticate through the publisher's login feature. Please note that the NCU Library may not provide direct access to every journal article or publication that you come across on the web. If you require access to a resource that may not be available in full text through the NCU Library's subscription, you may place a request for the resource through Interlibrary Loan

Use the following steps to access full-text database content from Taylor & Francis Online directly:

1. Click on Log in in the top right.Taylor & Francis Online homepage with Login feature

 

2. Click on Access through your institution. 

Taylor & Francis login screen

 

3.  Under Select your institution, search for and select Northcentral University.Select Northcentral University as the institution in Taylor & Francis Online

 

4.  You will be routed to the NCU login page to sign in with your institutional credentials. NCU login page

With OpenAthens, you can use your NCU login credentials to access resources directly from publisher or content provider websites. For example, if you have found an article through a general Google search from a publisher, you can directly authenticate through the publisher's login feature. Please note that the NCU Library may not provide direct access to every journal article or publication that you come across on the web. If you require access to a resource that may not be available in full text through the NCU Library's subscription, you may place a request for the resource through Interlibrary Loan

Use the following steps to access full-text database content from Web of Knowledge directly:

1. Under Institutional Sign In, select OpenAthens Federation and click Go.Web of Knowledge Login Page

2. Under Find your institution, search for and select Northcentral University.Find your institution in OpenAthens

3.  You will be routed to the NCU login page to sign in with your institutional credentials. NCU login page

 

With OpenAthens, you can use your NCU login credentials to access resources directly from publisher or content provider websites. For example, if you have found an article through a general Google search from a publisher, you can directly authenticate through the publisher's login feature. Please note that the NCU Library may not provide direct access to every journal article or publication that you come across on the web. If you require access to a resource that may not be available in full text through the NCU Library's subscription, you may place a request for the resource through Interlibrary Loan

Use the following steps to access full-text database content from Wiley Online Library directly:

1. Click on Log in/Register in the top right.Wiley Online Library home page with login button highlighted

2. Click on Institutional Login.

Wiley Online Library Sign In with Institutional login button highlighted

3. Search for and click on Northcentral University.

Search for and select Northcentral University in Wiley Online Library institution search

4.  You will be routed to the NCU login page to sign in with your institutional credentials. NCU login page

Forbidden Error when Accessing a Library Resource

Forbidden Error when Accessing a Library Resource

If you are receiving the below Forbidden error message when attempting to access a library resource, then it means that you may be trying to access a Library area that is only accessible to specific library users. For example, students in the JFK School of Law have access to specific legal databases, and alumni users have varied library access from currently enrolled students.

Forbidden error message when accessing a library resource

If you believe that you have received this message in error, please contact the NCU Library directly by calling 888-628-1569, by texting 928-550-6552, by emailing library@ncu.edu, or by chatting with us during live help hours.

Bad Request Error when Accessing a Library Resource

Bad Request Error when Accessing a Library Resource

A bad request error can be attributed to an improperly formatted link to a resource. The NCU Library can assist with locating the resource and providing a properly formatted link to access it. If you have received this message in error, please contact the NCU Library directly by calling 888-628-1569, by texting 928-550-6552, by emailing library@ncu.edu, or by chatting with us during live help hours.Bad Request error in OpenAthens due to Improperly Formatted link