LibGuides: EDR-8201 v5: Week 5 Resources

Week 5 Resources

Movies.sav
You will use this data file to complete this week’s assignment.

Academic Success Center (ASC). (2020). SEM and confidence intervals. National University.
This page from the ASC Statistical Resources uses a video, handout, and example to support your understanding of the standard error of the mean and confidence intervals.
Robust statistics
Blaine, B. E. (2018). Robust statistics. In B. B. Frey (Ed.), The SAGE encyclopedia of educational research, measurement, and evaluation (pp. 1435-1436). SAGE.
This source defines and discusses the concept of robust statistics. These are procedures for which, in spite of a violation to the assumptions in statistics, the results can still be accepted as accurate results.
Levene’s homogeneity of variance test.
Chen, Y. H., Wang, Y., & Kromrey, J. (2018). Levene’s homogeneity of variance test. In B. B. Frey (Ed.), The SAGE encyclopedia of educational research, measurement, and evaluation (pp. 970-972). SAGE.
The Levene’s test is a test to examine the assumption of homogeneity of variance. This assumption is used in the independent t - test analysis and the analysis of variance.
Standard error of the mean
Richard, D. (2012). Standard error of the mean. In N. J. Salkind (Ed.), The Encyclopedia of research design (pp. 1431-1433). SAGE.
The standard error of the mean represents the accuracy of the sample mean when compared to the population mean. This source presents information related to this important concept in statistics.
Kolmogorov-Smirnov test
Thombs, L. (2018). Kolmogorov-Smirnov test. In B. B. Frey (Ed.), The SAGE encyclopedia of educational research, measurement, and evaluation (pp. 931-932). SAGE.
This source provides a description of the Kolmogorov-Smirnov test, a test that is used to examine the assumption of normality.
Confidence interval.
Wu, Y. F. (2018). Confidence interval. In B. B. Frey (Ed.), The SAGE encyclopedia of educational research, measurement, and evaluation (pp. 359-362). SAGE.
This is a measure that represents the interval for estimating the population means using a sample. In these pages, you will learn different ways to calculate the confidence interval.

Supplemental Resources

Hypothesis testing.
Coleman, J. S. (2018). Hypothesis testing. In B. B. Frey (Ed.), The SAGE encyclopedia of educational research, measurement, and evaluation (pp. 803-804). SAGE.
This resource was introduced in a previous week. Hypotheses are formed in inferential statistics and used to make decisions about the population using a sample. This source provides discussion regarding the decisions that are made based on hypothesis testing.
Normal distribution.
Musselwhite, D., & Wesolowski, B. (2018). Normal distribution. In B. B. Frey (Ed.), The SAGE encyclopedia of educational research, measurement, and evaluation (pp. 1155-1157). SAGE.
The normal distribution represents the distribution of scores in a sample that is obtained from a population. While the majority of scores are in the middle of the distribution, as scores move away from the middle, the frequencies decrease.
Standard error of measurement
Musselwhite, D., & Wesolowski, B. (2018). Standard error of measurement. In B. B. Frey (Ed.), The SAGE encyclopedia of educational research, measurement, and evaluation (pp. 1588-1590). SAGE.
As you learned from this resource in a previous week, this resource explains the spread of measurement errors when a sample is used to estimate a population value. In other words, it describes the possible error between the observed and true scores.
Academic Success Center (ASC). (2020). Statistics resources. National University.
This LibGuide includes all of the statistics resources curated by NU's Academic Success Center. Use the headings on the left side of this ASC page to navigate to your particular area of need.