Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Chapter 4

Data and Statistics

Useful Links for Help with Statistics

Statistics workshops

These are short tutorials that include quizzes to test your knowledge: http://www.wadsworth.com/psychology_d/templates/student_resources/workshops/stats_wrk.html

This link provides a variety of tools describing common statistical analyses using examples from textbooks: http://www.ats.ucla.edu/stat/spss/examples/default.htm

StatNotes by G.David Garson at NCSU contains one the most helpful and easy to use resources on statistics and research methods. Check it out: http://faculty.chass.ncsu.edu/garson/PA765/statnote.htm

When to use WHAT statistic?

Very nice, moderate length tutorial from Wadsworth that covers both parametric and nonparametric tests. It includes 10 practice exercises and a quiz: http://www.wadsworth.com/psychology_d/templates/student_resources/workshops/stat_workshp/chose_stat/chose_stat_01.html

Decision Tree: http://www.unice.fr/crookall-cours/research/what_stat.htm

Here is one more resource to checkout that also provides definitions of variable types and how these variable types link to statistical procedures: http://www.ats.ucla.edu/stat/stata/whatstat/

Statistical Power and Sample Size/Power Analysis

Statistical Power Tutorial (complete tutorial with a calculator or software program) http://www.wadsworth.com/psychology_d/templates/student_resources/workshops/stat_workshp/statpower/statpower_01.html

This site contains over 300 free calculators. To find a calculator related to power/sample size, click on “Power, sample size, and experimental designs” on the Table of Contents: http://statpages.org/

This is a popular, free calculator for sample size/power analysis. It contains a help section, user guide, and manual: http://www.psycho.uni-duesseldorf.de/abteilungen/aap/gpower3/

Help with SPSS

This is an SPSS site that not only helps decide the correct analytical procedure, but gives sample SPSS output:http://www.ats.ucla.edu/stat/spss

From the same helpful folks at UCLA, here is a great place to get lost if there is anything you need to know about SPSS: http://www.ats.ucla.edu/stat/spss/

Help with Excel

This site gives assistance with basic functions and calculations: http://www.meadinkent.co.uk/excel.htm

Supported by Microsoft Office, this site contains helps and how-tos: http://office.microsoft.com/en-us/excel/FX100646951033.aspx

Simulations and Case Studies

“RiceVirtual Lab in Statistics” contains a link to an online textbook. It also contains simulations (great for those who like to “do” rather than simply “read”) and case studies (for when a “real world” example make the concept “real”): http://onlinestatbook.com/rvls.html

Online statistical textbooks

http://www.statsoft.com/textbook/stathome.html -this online textbook contains chapters that cover terminology and basic statistics, as well as more complicated types of analytical procedures including MANOVA, cluster analysis, factor analysis, etc.

http://davidmlane.com/hyperstat/ -this online textbook includes elementary chapters (univariate statistics, bivariate statistics, probability, hypothesis testing, etc). It also has a chapter on Power and includes links to free statistical analysis software.

http://www.unice.fr/crookall-cours/research/stats_topics.htm -this online textbook includes a glossary, free software, instructional demos, problems and exercises, and statistics help.