Nursing Quality & Safety

Offers a step-by-step guide for implementing the recommendations of the Institute of Medicine to reduce the frequency of errors in health care services and to mitigate the impact of errors when they do occur.

Provides emerging research on the theoretical and practical aspects of healthcare management for optimal patient care and communication. Teaches readers about the tools and applications of ethical treatment and hospital behavior.

Brings together a team of internationally prominent contributors who provide expertise on current strategies, tactics, and methods for understanding quality in a comprehensive way. Provides a solid foundation on the components and importance of quality, while incorporating techniques to continuously improve and transform a healthcare system.

Offers an introduction to the field and practice of quality management and reveals the best practices and strategies health care organizations can adopt to improve patient outcomes and program quality. Filled with illustrative case studies that show how business processes can be restructured to achieve improvements in quality, risk reduction, and other key areas.

Offers a wealth of information about the role of all types of APRNs (NPs, CNSs, CNMs, and CRNAs) in influencing the development and application of health care policy in a wide range of specialties. Delivers an invigorated focus on developing policy that advocates for vulnerable populations and discusses how the incorporation of interprofessional education has changed and will continue to alter health policy in the U.S. and internationally.

Applies lessons from the communication sciences to common challenges in the delivery of safe patient care. Describes basic tenets of human communication to the context of nursing to provide a foundation for practices that can advance the safety and quality of care.

Focuses on using technology with an interprofessional team to improve patient care and safety. It delivers an expansive and innovative approach to devising practical methods of optimizing technology to foster quality of patient care and support population health initiatives.

Factors that influence safety-related experiences, behaviors, and outcomes of patients and professionals working in clinical settings such as medical practices and hospitals are reviewed, structured, and critically evaluated. Takes a multi-level approach to patient safety, which includes a review of individual, team, and organizational factors and outcomes.

Provides background on the patient safety movement, systems safety, human error and other key philosophies that support change and innovation in the reduction of medical error. Draws from multidisciplinary areas within the acute care environment to share models that support the proactive changes necessary to provide safe care delivery.

Presents the clinically tested Myer's Patient Safety Model for health care system leaders, middle managers, and administrators to build their patient safety program and to help sustain, renew, or obtain accreditation. Provides detailed explanations of why medical errors still occur in accredited hospitals, and provides the much needed organization-wide steps to prevent these errors and enhance patient safety for improved outcomes.

Drawing on the universal values in health care, the second edition of Quality and Safety in Nursing continues to devote itself to the nursing community and explores their role in improving quality of care and patient safety.

Provides a blueprint to hospitals, healthcare organizations, leaders, and patient-facing workers with tools, training, and ideas to address quality within their organization. Examples from health care an other industries are provided to illustrate lean methodology and learn their application in quality.

Presents a series of research-informed readings on the sociological contributions of technologies, practices, experiences, and organizational quality and safety across a range of healthcare contexts. Represents the first collection of peer-reviewed research articles showcasing ways that sociology can contribute to the ongoing policy concern of healthcare safety and quality.